Technologic Newsletter Layout 2

For Deep Thought (another techie reference for us oldies) I went bold and bright. The base paper for this is the reverse side of  Barcode, a bright yellow paper with a small star pattern on it. Before I did anything else to it I grunged it up a bit with my trusty (and very old) Basic Grey file. The sandpaper might not be as fresh as it used to be, but it still gives good grunge. In doing along the paper edges I accidentally sandpapered in some creases – which only added to the affect rather than detracting from it – so I decided to work my layout out around making the most of the sandpapered bits.

 I simply popped 2 left over bits of patterned paper – Barcode and Abort – together and then added the photo. Abort is another awesome circuitry patterned paper – this time in orange and yellow. Just love them – so different from everything out there – and VERY good if you have science-nerdy kids like mine.

I’ve used another old Basic Grey chipboard alpha for the title – again keeping the inking to just a simple coat of Charcoal. The cog sticker is from the 12 x 12 sticker sheet (available in the collection pack only) and the number/barcode-ish pattern is one of the rubons from the range (also available in the collection pack only).

The strip of little robots and stripes is one of the manufacturer strips from along the bottom of the patterned paper – and I apologise – for the life of me I cannot work out which one it must have been. It’s very cute though – much better than just a strip of the striped paper alone.  The coloured brads next to it are very old Basic Grey ones from my stash. I’ve distressed the edges of most of the patterned papers with my file – keeping the grungy look to match that of the base paper.

 

 More of the same embellishments under the photo – the rest of the title, more brads and another paper strip. The cute die cut robot is from the Collectibles Pack (available in the collection pack only). This is probably my only disappointment in the range – it consisted of mostly robots (albeit in several shapes, colours and sizes), robots parts, strange old transistor radios, MP3 players, cogs and 5 very nice stars. All very good for boys – but – they were all very ‘little boy’ when the papers were more ‘big’ boy. I did find it hard to use the Collectibles – other than the stars – with my teens, but that is my ONLY gripe with the range – and all things considered, it is a small one.

This time the journalling is on a tag popped in behind the photo. I’ve used a spare bit of Barcode for the tag and added a small robot head to it on a pop dot. The title is both a reference to the photo and a snide homage to either/both of the computers of the same name. The star is from the Collectibles Pack, the cog sticker on it is from the 12 x 12 sticker sheet and the number/barcode-ish pattern underneath it is the rest of the rubon from the top of the page (all available in the collection pack only).

In designing the page, I tried to align the added elements with the distress marks made by the file: so the papers were aligned with the file marks on the left; the robot die cut was popped into the space between two file marks; the rubon at the top and bottom was slotted into spaces between file marks and the whole page was left relatively free of embellishment, so that they stood out and were obvious elements in the design.

There are two sections of punch-work on the layout and thoughts on punching (as used here) is another of the design tips I have added to the forum.

So there you are – about as much white space as you get from me in a layout and surprisingly I resisted the urge to add anything more. Well ok – I did try – but I took it all off again. 😉

Don’t forget to run into the store and take advantage of the 20% off selected Kaisercraft products – you have until the end of May (which is not far away now).

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

