Prima Meadow Lark and some new my2angels pretties

I have to admit I had not given much thought to getting the Meadow Lark range – a little too bright for me and some of the papers had me stumped as to how I would use them. But then I remembered a set of photos taken a couple of years ago on our way back from the (sometimes) annual ski trip. Madame in a bright, cheerful flowery top and shorts and a field full of yellow flowers. A match made in heaven – so off to Tracy’s I went to get me some Meadow Lark.

The base for Forever Spring is a piece of Grace – a very pretty floral pattern. I’ve cut it into a die cut shape using a new template shape (it’s a recent LYB die cut) that’s taken my fancy. I then stitched around it in a pattern that was part of the original die cut’s pattern. Over this went a cut down piece of Buttercup Coredinations cardstock. The third and top layer of the layout is a piece of Labelle, cut so that the birds/flowers on the right side were not included – most of what I kept was the script pattern.

This gave me a very soft and pretty base to work with – all I needed to do was fill it with a photo and some embellishments.

For the title, I used some Linen Texture Alphas from Prima – which I coloured a pretty lemon yellow using the new Tim Holtz Spring Inks set – the ink is called Lemonade and is a perfect match for the yellow cardstock. I’ve popped it over the top of a flourish tag that has been cut out of the Astor paper – one side is just full of different shapes and sizes and they are very easy to cut out. The flowers you see behind the tag are from Chloe – they’ve been fussy cut and popped here and there all over the layout to provide extra colour and interest and to block out some of the yellow cardstock.

There are a couple of layered clusters here and there – this one has layers of flowers cut from the reverse of Astor . I’ve coloured some of them with Twinkling H2O’s from my stash and left the others raw – though I have edged them with a pinky coloured chalk ink. There are also some more fussy cut flowers from Chloe and another of the gorgeous Charming Words from my2angels. This one is the yellow rose/Forever version – but Tracy has a number of colours to choose from and several words.

On the other corner of the photo I have popped some more layered and fussy cut flowers and added in one of the Meadow Lark Lucerne blossoms. These have huge, clear crystals and a little glitter on them and although simple – are very pretty.

The biggest cluster on the layout though involves more layered/fussy cut flowers and several more of the Meadow Lark Lucerne flowers – along with a sparkly sticker from the Chipboard Sticker Sheet. There are also a couple of small yellow roses and I used one of Tracy’s clear glass cabochons  (they come in a range of sizes) and a bit of left-over patterned paper to make a pretty ornament as well.

The two special ‘bits and bobs’ though were one of Tracy’s cute, new birds nests and the gorgeous yellow and antique bronze Charming Pin. Whoo hooo – finally got her to put these in the store – they’re so cute and easy to use.

There is also a hand-made flower I made from a spare bit of patterned paper – Windsong – this was made using one of my MFT dies – and I have popped a pearl into it for a centre.

Tucked in here and there on the layout are 2 birds cut out from the leftover bit of Labelle. I popped one behind the nest and the other over near the title.

So there you have it – Meadow Lark – a soft, pretty range from Prima with much more potential than you would think from the online images. The watercolour look to the patterns is very pretty in real life. I have a heap of bits left over from this layout, so I can see something else coming up.

Tracy is off to the Brisbane Scrapbooking Expo next weekend – so you might want to get in early with your purchases – as I am sure the nests and pins will be a big hit there(along with all her other personal designs).

Also – at the moment Tracy has 25% off all Charms, but only until Sunday 3rd June – so get in quick and grab a super deal on her silver and antique bronze charms.
 
I’m currently working on some Bo Bunny Weekend Market for Mary – but next up for Tracy is the gorgeous Glitz Designs French Kiss.
Leave a Reply

