Attitude – the my2angels sketch layout

Sigh – scrappy heaven is when you get a range that screams out to be used with photos you have – or you think you could have, just as soon as you can get your teens to stay still long enough to take them. Attitude – the new masculine Kaiser range – is just what I needed for photos of my teen menaces. Attitude is something they have plenty of (the middle one in particular – his attitude comes with an ATTITUDE of its own).

And photos of them are something I actually have at the moment too, thanks to a recent photo shoot in the park of my unholy trinity goofing off. Luckily for me they were wearing their usual rainbow hues (that’s sarcasm there in case you missed it ūüėČ – those of you with teenage boys know exactly what¬†I mean) which made using the Attitude papers a breeze.

I started with the deliciously grunged reverse of Individual – a paper you might easily overlook from the images provided by Kaiser. Check it out below to appreciate the detail on it. Over this I popped a piece of Trouble and then a panel cut from Wat’s Up?¬†This¬†provided the framework for my layout, the rest was just embellishing.

In the top left corner I made an embellishment cluster by popping a couple of the stars from the Collectibles Pack together with some chippy cogs – which I inked silver (Brilliance Ink Pad Starlight Silver).

There is a bit more to it than just that though – if you look carefully there is a texture to the chipboard – the full process is a bit more complicated. I inked it and heat dried the ink – then edged the cog with some black ink and then added some Tim Holtz Black Soot Distress Stickles. This was dried with a heat gun and then a layer of Crystalina Kindyglitz was added and heat dried until the sparkly glitter was removed (you get a more subdued glimmer). To finish it off the cog was given another light coat of the silver ink. The final look is textured and patchy – with areas silver and some black and with a glimmer to it here and there.

Then I added¬†a piece of pizzabox (stealing one of Tracy’s ideas here), diecut with the Tim Holtz Gadget Gears Die¬†(this was lightly brushed with Tim Holtz’s Vintage Photo Distress Ink Reinker) and a couple of tags¬†I made myself using the Attitude papers and rubons. (I’ll post later in the week to explain how I made them.)

To finish off the tags I added one of Tracy’s Silver Metal Textured Stars ¬†and a length of Ball and Chain. The large star in the middle was topped off with a title spot from the Collectibles Pack , whilst the smaller star next to it got a¬†Black Metal Textured Star.

I added one of the manufacturing strips (the boys will be boys bit) and a diecut piece from the Attitude! 6.5″ Paper Pad¬†across the top of the photo for bit of added interest and then tied a bit of twine through some holes¬†I punched through the paper.

The journalling went on some strips of the reverse side of the Trouble¬† paper. Underneath I popped in the title – which is from the Collectibles Pack¬†(as is the star under it). Some more chipboard cogs, twine and another Black Metal Textured Star¬†complete the bottom left side of the layout. I’ve put the journalling strips on some foam mounting tape (oos) to give some dimension to the layout.

The embellishment cluster at bottom right of the layout got some more stars – this time ones I made from some of the patterned paper. The larger one is from the reverse side of Trouble¬†, but the smaller one is from a paper in the Attitude! 6.5″ Paper Pad. This pad contains some gorgeous papers – and is not limited to just those that are a smaller version of the 12 x 12 collection. It has¬†embossed and metallic versions of the 12 x 12 range and some totally new patterns, as well as some die cuts.¬†

 Other elements in the cluster are repeats from the earlier embellishment cluster РI like to repeat elements to keep the layout coherent across the page. The arrow is new though and is from the Collectibles Pack.

I probably should confess here that the stars (both the Collectibles and patterned paper) have all been inked along the edges with black ink to add in a little ‘shadow’ and definition to the edge.

So there’s my Sketch layout using the new Kaiser Attitude! range. Come join in the fun of the July Monthly Challenge and have a go at my sketch. I’d love to see you join in – and the prize is absolutely worth the time entering.

¬†I’ll be back with more manly goodness (cough cough) next week – as I bring you some mini album pages using the Attitude! collection.

Leave a Reply

