Kaiser Newsletter – Attitude! – Layout 1

Although its not quite raining men, there certainly seems to be a lot more masculine ranges on offer out there in scrapland than there used to be – and I for one, am not complaining. 🙂 Kaiser have followed up their brilliant Technologic with another male offering – this one aptly named Attitude!, and with plenty of that in my male dominated household, I have no lack of subjects available to scrap with this range.

Where Technologic was funky and bright – Attitude! is grungy and distressed. The colours are more sombre – charcoal, dirty white, darker greens (think army fatigues), maroon and a caramel brown; and the patterns are dominated by graffiti, camouflage, random numbers, timber palings and combinations of grungy background stamps. A major feature of the range is a series of (no less than 3) double-sided papers featuring journalling spots and die cut shapes. Most of these have words and sayings on them relating to boys.

For my first layout – Attitude – I’ve gone for papers that match the colours in the photo. The busy red and white number pattern of the reverse side of Teenager (and how appropriate is that name??) is a bit much for large areas – but is perfect for a ‘frame’ as shown. I’ve grunged up the edges of the paper by sandpapering them to reveal the inner, white paper core.

The base of the layout is the dirty white, grid pattern reverse of Dude. I’ve trimmed it down a couple of centimetres and inked along the edges. Keep in mind that the papers in this range are charcoal rather than a true black – so use a charcoal ink rather than a black one, as the latter will stand out very clearly against the patterned paper.

The 6.5″ Paper Pad from the range contains some stand out patterns. I’ve used one of them here, offset behind the photo as a photo mat. The star embellishment cluster includes a couple of stars –  1 cut from a paper in the 6.5″ Paper Pad (the red textured star) and another from the charcoal, reverse side of Attitude. The centre of the larger star is a sticker from the 12 x 12 Sticker Sheet.

Next to it is a dog tag I made from another metallic textured paper from the 6.5″ Paper Pad (I told  you these papers were fantastic) and some altered chipboard cogs. The dog tag has been embellished with rubons from the collection; a small metal star; and a chipboard cog – and is finished off with a metal ball chain, just like a real dog tag. To get the textured, grungy finish to the chippy, I’ve added several layers of ink (silver for one and red/charcoal on the other), some Black Soot Distress Stickles and Crystallina Kindyglitz and then heated it all with my heat gun to fuse it together.

The stamp you can see – Graffiti – is from the accompanying Kaiser release – and directly matches one of the patterns repeated in the Attitude! range.

The top right corner of the layout features a piece of chippy from my stash – same chipboard treatment.

This is about as chevron-y as I get – and then it is not so much a chevron, as a repeated arrow pattern (or so I tell myself) and is the same metallic paper as the dog tag. The arrow is cut from the same patterned paper as the earlier star. Both textured papers are part of the  6.5″ Paper Pad. The alphas with the way cool font are from the 12 x 12 Sticker Sheet.

The chipboard at the bottom of the layout is half a corner piece – I cut it into two and used the other bit under the photo.

The last corner is in fact the first corner I finished designing – the poor layout sat there for several days whilst I pushed bits round and round (well – more up and down than round and round actually) 🙂 – because I really liked the way the arrows went with the chippy bit in the middle. Finally I worked out how to add more pattern to the layout (by adding the patterned paper matt) – but it did take a while before I was happy.

Around the edges of the layout in a couple of spots, I added in some stitching – which I then cut and partially ripped out. Just an added element of grunge.

So check out some Attitude! of your own from Ideal Papercraft and get scrapping something masculine.

Leave a Reply

