Kaiser Newsletter – Attitude! – Layout 2

Those of you who visit the forum at Ideal Papercraft will know that I am a big fan of  lolcats and post up a new set of images every Monday – just so we can start the week with a few giggles. One week the image was this one…

When a recent photoshoot produced the photo you see on the layout below – despite the fact it was a less than perfect photo, I knew I had to scrap it – and in a way that paid tribute to the lolcat image. My older pair find the photo and this layout hilarious – my youngest son is still not amused.

 

For Oh Brother, I used the reverse side of Individual as the base of the layout. It’s such a gorgeously grungy page – the patterns are very suble, but still noticable. The black and white grid pattern is part of a die cut piece from Wicked. With the exception of the speech bubbles, they constitute the only patterned paper elements on this page – the rest are pieces from the Collectibles Pack (now only available in the Collection Value Pack).

To fill in some of the empty space around the edges of the layout – I popped a die cut star over an arrow in the top left hand corner. The star has been embellished with some elements from my stash –  a small black metal star, some scrap mesh and a piece of ball chain from a dog tag.

The speech bubble has been cut out of the grid pattern side of Dude . There are several that are part of the die cut elements set – but not enough for all three, so rather than have a slightly different pattern for one of them, I chose to make all of them out of the patterned paper. The tag and word strip are part of the Collectibles Pack and the ball chain comes from my stash.

More elements from the Collectibles Pack – the word, the stars, the arrow and the way cool tag. It’s actually part of the tag at the top of the photo – I’ve cut it out from the larger die cut tag using a dog tag die I have in my stash. I popped another black, metal star on it to add a little more interest and tied it through the word with a silver ball chain.

The caramel star pattern along the bottom of the die cut paper is one of the border elements from the Attitude! Rubons.  And honestly – if they weren’t part of my DT kit I wouldn’t bother with using them. Yet again Kaiser have produced a dud product. It took 3 different strips of this rubon to produce what you see. They won’t rub off properly – they come off in pieces and some bits don’t come off at all. The problem is even more noticable on one of the other layouts done for this newsletter. I do have to admit that I got one of the rubon packs from a different store than the first two – and it seemed to work much better – but still, get it right Kaiser! I’m at the point now where I just won’t waste my money on them anymore.

The final embellishment cluster has a another word and some more stars from the Collectibles Pack – the smallest star is further embellished with a bit of scrap mesh, a couple of staples and a word cut from a section of one of the manufacture’s strips. The final element is a long piece of ball chain with a couple of silver figure charms from my stash.

I’ve done a number of layouts with this range now and I’ve not even begun to work my way through the different ideas I have for scrapping with it. I guess it’s lucky for me I have so many boys to use it with. Now if I could just get as many photos from them as I can my daughter…..?

Leave a Reply

