Kaiser Newsletter – Attitude! – Layout 3

The final layout for the newsletter is Boy Interrupted. Some of you have noticed that for my older boys, I often scrap pages about emotional times, issues and problems they have and my advice/response to those times.  This is another of those layouts. DS2 has been on a bit of a roller-coaster this year though no fault of his own. It has been a rough year for all of us as a family, but for him it has been harder than most. For one who the path was clearest, the future brightest – he is currently in a much darker place. And perhaps the most tragic aspect of this, is that some of those who should have been acting to help and support him, have instead turned their backs and let him down.

While I know that time will show that this is just an interruption to his life (hence the title) the betrayal of those he thought he should be able to trust has been an eye-opening shock to him.  The design of the layout is intended to depict some of the turmoil and context of the underlying reason for the layout.

The base paper for the layout is the reverse side of the aptly titled Trouble. I love the pattern of this paper and at some point I must do a layout that features it as a central part of the design.  Over it I have put a trimmed down and randomly edge-punched piece of Industrial – the embossed cardstock of the range. It has a great grid texture to it and is another paper well worth featuring on a layout. Over that is a trimmed down piece of Dude – again featuring the reverse side (grid pattern). Tucked under the left side of the photo is a section of Trouble (cut to show off the great pattern on it) – that I cut out of the base piece before I layered the other sections over it.

I used one of the star die cuts from the Collectibles Pack (oos) as a template to produce this star from the reverse side of Whatever. The star has been embellished with a randomly inked chipboard cog,  a metal Tim Holtz Gears piece, some leather twine, a section of star border sticker from the 12 x 12 Sticker Sheet and some rubons from the Rubon Collection.

I had some trouble with getting some of the rubons to rubon properly – so I deliberately messed up the ones that were ok to give them all a distressed and messy look. Nothing in DS2’s life is neat and tidy at the moment – so a messy, half-finished look to the embellishments is fitting.

 Using a die cut star as my template again – I cut this star out of an underlying piece of Trouble – the hole is hidden by the other layers of paper. I really liked the pattern on it and couldn’t bear for it not to show somewhere on the layout. The chipboard piece is from my stash and has been inked and then coated with Black Soot Distress Stickles to give it that textured look.

The journalling (motherly advice) is on the tag hidden under the photo. I used a luggage tag as a template to cut one from a piece of the reverse side of Whatever. It has been embellished with a bit of leather twine and a a metal Tim Holtz Gears piece. More of the star border sticker from the 12 x 12 Sticker Sheet and the rubons from the Rubon Collection finish off this corner of the layout.

Although there is a die cut ‘boy’ word in the Collectibles Pack – I chose to use it as a template and continue the reverse side of Whatever theme. It got a nice grungy inking too – which was much more fitting than the white bordered original die cut piece. This section of the layout features elements from the 6.5 Paper Pad – the two borders and the caramel embossed paper. The chipboard is all from my stash, but the funky alphas are again from the 12 x 12 Sticker Sheet.

There is further symbology in the chipboard pieces – the clock is broken up into 2 pieces – to mirror the broken time (period in his life?) he is experiencing and the 12 at the top is a reference to ‘Year 12’ – the year of his schooling that has been torn apart.

I borrowed a cool cogs stamp from a scrappy friend to make this section of the layout. The textured look you can see on the stamping is due to using a Tim Holtz Distress Embossing Powder.  I’ve popped this into the forum as my Techniques and Tips suggestion for this newsletter – so check it out in the forum to see how I achieved this grungy appearance.

After I finished the stamping, I randomly added metal and chipboard cogs here and there. Unlike the normal neat and efficient gears/cogs of a functioning machine (life) – these gears and cogs have exploded out and are in disarray. I couldn’t think of a better way to represent the chaos DS2’s life has been over the past few months. 

I have to admit I like Attitude! more than Technologic (though that does still own a special place in my heart) – but then it suits my teens down to the ground. I can see it working for  younger boys (pre-teens and those grubby, little boy photos) and I have seen some stunning layouts done for girls as well. Mary still has reasonable stocks of everything available – so make your life a little grungier and grab yourself some Attitude!

One Response

  1. AWESOME !!!! always amazed at your scrapping talents and how great they look – your techniques & tips are a bonus TFS 🙂

Leave a Reply

