Bo Bunny Serenity

Ahhhhh Bo Bunny – the little black dress of the scrapping world. And like that fashion staple, Bo Bunny goes with anything and everything, is classic and timeless, yet funky and new all at once. Although there are ranges that are not my personal style – I’ve yet to see a release from them that does not have at least one range that appeals to some section of scrapperdom. For me – the stand out release for last CHA was Serenity.

There are many colour combinations you can create with using Serenity: – whose colour pallet includes rich chocolates, creams and reds, pale greens, and crisp teal, black and white. The theme is distinctly Asian – but you can very easily use it for non-Asian photos. I have though, chosen this range to use with photos I took on a family visit to the Chinese Friendship Gardens in Sydney – as they were a perfect match with the images in my photos.

With True Beauty – I used Fans as a frame for the layout, with a cut-down piece of Tomoko acting as the base. I love the red, cream and chocolate/black colours of these two papers together. I’ve distressed the edges of Tomoko  and given it a light coating of Iridescent Gold Glimmermist to make it shimmer all over. Then in the area around which my photo was to be placed I further randomly misted some Hollyberry Glimmermist.

Tucked into the curled back top left corner is a die cut tag from Cut Outs – I was hoping to journal on this, but it became too difficult to hold the tag in place – so now it is purely decorative. Next to it is a spare flower cut out from a paper in the 6 x 6 Paper Pad and 2 small pieces of pearl chain. I’ve inked around all the hand cut elements on the page – it helps to define them more clearly.

There were a few things I wanted to do with this layout – and using some muslin fabric was one of them. I’ve randomly inked it with a metallic gold ink and then misted it all with Iridescent Gold Glimmermist to make it shimmery. A quick dry with my heat gun, a little tussling to muss up all th edges and you have this lovely shabby, vintage look. I’ve tucked it around the layout here and there to soften the edges of various elements.

In various spots I ripped back the edges of the paper to create small cluster ‘hotspots’ – like the one above. The flowers that fill them are cut out from another piece of  Tomoko . Just under that – if you look carefully – you can see that some of those flowers are not on the paper – but are a Cherry Blossom and Cage Chipboard Branch (not sure who the manufacturer is). I’ve inked it black and then painted the flowers with Hollyberry Glimmermist. This colour is perfect with these papers. To get the centres, I hand cut out some small cream flowers from the paper and then glued them into place. It makes the cage look like it is springing out from the paper itself.

And here is the cage – all inked up with sparkly metallic gold ink.  The paper behind it is a die cut piece from Cut Outs – which has been edge distressed and inked.

One of the other techniques I wanted to try with this layout is that of the ‘photo nest’ – where you take a selection of different bits and pieces and build a ‘nest’ upon which to pop the photo.

Mine has that paper die cut as the base, but then I built it up with some ripped pizza box (inked with metallic gold ink and painted with Iridescent Gold Glimmermist), some cut out blossoms/shapes, strands of pearls and strips of muslin. I’m very happy with the way it turned out.

This hand cut element came from one of the die cut pieces from Cut Outs – I’ve pop-dotted it for some depth and added a second hand cut blossom behind it in a couple of places as well. The lanterns next to it have had a second layer added to them using pop-dots and the blossom on them comes from the Dimensional Glittered Stickers sheet.

The title for the layout comes from this gorgeous title tag from the Layered Chipboard sheet. To help the tag merge into the page, I’ve cut under the edge of some of the blossoms on the left and tucked the tag under them.

This was the last of the techniques I wanted to try with this layout – and I have to admit it was the most time-consuming and complicated of them. I wanted extra blossoms down on the bottom part of the layout – and these are made using texture paste and the Cherry Blossoms template by The Crafters Workshop. Texture paste takes ages to dry and the wait nearly killed me (believe me, patience is NOT one of my virtues) – and then I used my Hollyberry and Black Gold Glimmermists to colour the texture paste. Again – I’ve hand cut some small flowers to pop into the centre of my texture paste flowers to make them look just like the paper pattern ones.

You can also see that there are a few more rips in the paper and some more flowers tucked in here and there – and some more of those gorgeous red blossoms. I wanted to use them a fair bit on this layout as they match the flower in my daughter’s headdress very well. While we were at the Gardens, she and her brothers tried on some traditional Chinese clothes and I got some lovely photos of the ‘dress-ups’.

To finish off the layout I popped on one of the Asian word symbols from the 12 x 12 Chipboard Sheet (oos). The golden bird you can see next to it is part of the branch/cage set – and I’ve used one of the red rhinestones from the Jewels Pack as an eye.

There’s not much you can do wrong with Bo Bunny – I’d defy anyone to buy Serenity and not find it easy to create something drop-dead stunning with it. You don’t have to be as fussy and detailed as I have been here – the pattern combinations make it very easy to create a simple or layered page – whatever you fancy. If you have been waiting for some inspiration to grab you before buying Serenity – I’m hoping that I have provided you with just what you need. Check out here for the stunning layouts designed by Michele and here to purchase Serenity from Ideal Papercraft.

One Response

  1. Loving the colour choices you used …. a beautiful layout 🙂

Leave a Reply

