Twiddleybitz Gate Mini Album

Yeah I know, it’s been a while. I’ve been busy at work and planning the new house – plus the usual family stuff that seems to happen.  Hmmm – maybe not usual for every other family – but definitely the usual chaos for mine. I’ve spent the last couple of weeks though, working on a new mini album using the gorgeous Twiddleybitz Gate Album (BK016). This has five pages – one of them a split page – and a stunning wrought iron gate style cover that you open up to get inside the album.

The paper range I chose to use with it is the beautiful Pickled Pear from Kaiser. This is one of those ranges you need to see in real life to appreciate. I wasn’t overly keen on it looking at it online – but I have to admit that I love it now. Lovely soft blues, browns, greens and cream – a touch of black and grey here and there – and an abundance of gold. Perhaps the best part of the range though, is the fantastic set of bits and pieces you get in the Collectibles pack. Butterflies, flowers, tickets, etc – but most of all – a heap of useful words printed on pennants or plain word tags. I love them so much, I have bought 2 sets and am seriously thinking I need a third. 🙂

In this post I am going to show you the album as it is – finished. Over the next week or so I will put up a series of step-by-steps to show both the techniques I used on the chipboard and the way in which I put the album together. If there is anything I have missed out – feel free to contact me to ask to include it.

So here are the front covers – it’s hard to get them to stay closed without the chain closure done up …

IMG_3500

but you can see here that the chain does it nicely – keeps all the gorgeousness under control.

IMG_3535

I’ve used the Itty Bitty Alphabet (ALPHA005B) for my title. I popped it onto the inner gate cover panel so that it shows through the opening in the ‘gate’.

IMG_3502

A close up shot of the left cover …

IMG_3498

and now the right.

IMG_3494

Here’s the inside left cover. The embellishment cluster was designed around the stunning Twiddleybitz  Flying Butterfly Clock – Steam (SPK002) piece.

IMG_3505

The right inner cover is a little less ‘fussy’, but still very pretty.

IMG_3509

The centre page has these lovely corner chipboard swirls, which are from the Swirls Pack 8 pieces (SPK002) – this is a ‘show special’ pack from Twiddleybitz.

IMG_3506

The next page features part of a Roman Clock Face Small (CF002), as well as a leaf stem from the Fine Fern Leaves Assorted (FER002) pack.

IMG_3513

One of my favourite pieces of chippy is on the next page. Got to love an Eiffel Tower (EIF001) for the ultimate girly glamour symbol – especially when it sparkles like this one.

IMG_3515

The next page features the sweet Butterfly Ornate Corner (COR007) – I have altered this – in that all but one of the small butterflies was cut off the end of the corner.

IMG_3554

The rest of the small butterflies were used on the next page, along with a butterfly from the Butterfly Mix Bag of 3 (BUT001).

IMG_3520

There wasn’t much room for anything other than the photo on this page – so no chippy – just a few bits of die cut.

IMG_3561

The matching page though, got another of those pretty Fine Fern Leaves Assorted (FER002) stems – this time with a different medium to embellish it.

IMG_3526

The final page is one of my favourites – I love the rich colours of the patterned paper and all the layers in the butterflies/leaves/flowers.

IMG_3524

And finally, the back cover – with a clear view of the gorgeous ribbons I added to the album rings.

IMG_3531

I’ve had so much fun with this mini album. As most of you who regularly visit my blog know, I usually make my own from scratch – so it was nice to have one all ready made for me – particularly since it had a defined number of pages and wasn’t the ever endless versions I seem to make. This one was even more interesting in the way it all went together – a bit tricky though with the differing opening pattern for the pages – because I had to think about how each page would look against the one behind it when opened up.

Anyway – I hope you like it and that you will come check out how it was put together as I post up the step-by-step for each page.

Leave a Reply

