Twiddleybitz Gate Mini Album (Tutorial) Part 5

Looking now at the reverse side of the shaped pages in the mini – I had to use this gorgeous paper from the Paper Pad. I really wish they had made this as a 12 x 12 sheet.

IMG_3400

Starting off – a section of one of the floral die cuts from the Collectibles Pack. Now I have already worked out that I am putting a portrait photo on the right side of this page – so with all the other elements I am looking to frame that photo.

IMG_3402

At his point it is easier to add the photo – but not fully adhere it – so that you can tuck the various elements under it. Over the section of gold/white floral die cut I have added a section of a black/white one.

IMG_3404

At the bottom of the photo I have added a section of gold/white lace Collectible. This helps to ‘balance’ some of the same colour at the top of the photo.

IMG_3406

To hide the end of the lace strip I added a word tag, also from the Collectibles Pack. It’s not only a good contrast to the colours, but it adds a sentiment as well.

IMG_3408

Now I add in some dimension with a die cut butterfly to the floral elements at the top of the page.

IMG_3410

Another black/white floral section to the right of the photo …

IMG_3412

with another of the small flowers over the top of that to add texture and interest.

IMG_3414

In behind the photo is another tag. When the album has finished being on public display I will add in all the journalling.

IMG_3416

And the final page as it is in the mini.

IMG_3561

Turning to the small circle side of the page – again I have used a paper from the Paper Pad. I probably should have used the same pattern – but I really wanted to save some of that pretty blue/black paper for a layout, so I used this pattern instead.

IMG_3392

Over the top of this went the Collectibles die-cut tag that I wanted to make a feature of. I’ve only glued it down in the middle, as I want to add elements underneath the edges.

IMG_3394

For this page I wanted one of those pretty Fine Fern Leaves Assorted (FER002) stems. All I’ve done to the leaves is to roughly wipe a Distress ink pad across them (Weathered Wood) – the coverage is mottled – which makes it look very interesting in real life.

IMG_3397

I’ve tucked some muslin from my stash under the tag and then layered the chippy leaves over that, with a couple of the small flowers I’ve been using throughout the mini over the chippy leaves.   It doesn’t take much for this to be a gorgeous little page.

IMG_3398

The final touches on the finished page are some small butterfly charms from my stash.

IMG_3526

The final page in the album uses the gorgeous Olive patterned paper. I’ve cut it so that the lovely little pear pattern is hard up on the left side of the page.

To add some interest, I’ve cut a section of the border strip from the reverse of Thyme. I love the contrast this has against the gold pattern of Olive.

IMG_3418

Again – knowing that I have a landscape photo for this page – I am adding my embellishments to frame that. So down on the bottom right of the page I have popped in a little section of lace punched Apple.

IMG_3420

Because my section of Apple was not quite as long as I needed it to be – I cut the bottom punched section off and tucked it just under my striped strip and then did the same at the top with the rest of the piece of Apple. The striped strip hides the join and gives me the length I need.

IMG_3422

Now it is time to pop my photo in …

IMG_3424

and to add in some layered Collectibles butterflies …

IMG_3426

some layers of floral segments left over from earlier pages …

IMG_3428

a couple of word tags …

IMG_3430

a glass cabochon I made myself from one of the letter circles from the Pickled Pear Collection and then finally …

IMG_3432

finishing it all off with some more of the of the border strip from the reverse of Thyme.

IMG_3434

And here is the final page as it looks in the album. I’ve added in a small bronze butterfly charm from my stash to the top border strip – just to finish it all off.

IMG_3524

Thanks so much for following along through the album with me. I hope it has inspired you to have a go at your own mini album.

Leave a Reply

